InCoWriMo?

Well now, it’s been some time since I wrote a post, but it’s not that I haven’t been writing. No, most of my writing these days is offline, and most of it is with pen on paper. As I posted back in September, I’ve gotten back into using fountain pens again. I have changed my style of handwriting to more closely resemble a style of writing called “cursive italic,” which for me is much easier and seems to be much more legible; at least I can read it. I’ve switched to larger arm movements for some time now and find I can write, using a trusty fountain pen, for long periods of time without any pain at all, which I enjoy very much. There is something about the way a fountain pen skims over the page, like ice skating with the hand, that has a zen-like quality I find very appealing, and soothing.

I write in a journal of daily writing exercises; I also write in a catch-all sort of journal about nothing of particular importance. I started my “Some Lines a Day” 5-year memory book on January 1st, but that’s only a few minutes’ worth of writing per day. And back in November I started a small daily gratitude journal, just listing 5 things I’m thankful for each day. As I’ve moved into writing on paper and as I’ve gotten busier at work, I’m finding I’m moving away from posting, not just here but on Facebook and other places as well. I mean, there are only so many hours in the day! I also write letters and note cards on occasion.

incowrimosnailYesterday my sister told me about InCoWriMo, which is short for International Correspondence Writing Month, which is February. The website explains: “With an obvious nod to NaNoWriMo for the inspiration, InCoWriMo challenges you to hand-write and mail/deliver one letter, card, note or postcard every day during the month of February.” Of course I was intrigued and had to sign up. My sister has an entire list of people she plans to write to during February, some of them quite illustrious, but participants can write to anyone, people in their own household, friends, and it can be anything that’s correspondence:  letters, but also cards, postcards, notes, memos, etc. You can even write to the same person every day if you want to.

So I’m getting my own list together now, planning to write to folks locally and also far away, one letter/card/note a day; it’ll be fun. You never know, you might be hearing from me!

4 thoughts on “InCoWriMo?

  1. What a fun idea! I’ve been getting more and more fascinated with hand writing, writing by hand, though it’s still difficult for me to maintain for any length of time. How did you decide to change your writing style? Larger hand movements sounds like a good idea. I find that my hand gets more tense as time goes by, and it’s better if I remember to relax it. Have you ever tried Postcrossing? It’s sending postcards to people across the world. I’ve only done it a little, but I’ve already received postcards from people in China, Belgium, Turkey, and more. And I’ve sent them all over the world, too.

  2. That’s fascinating, regarding postcrossing, I’ll have to investigate that; to participate I’d also have to get a waterproof ink! Regarding changing my writing style, I will write that to you in a letter! 😀

Leave a Reply

