The Monday Post, Vol. 47 — Living Small!

As I’ve alluded to in the past, I’ve been interested in “living small” for some time, following “tiny house” blogs, small apartment blogs and also a great blog on all aspects of streamlined living, Be More with Less. The author, Courtney Carver, and her husband and dog, downsized from a 2000 sq. ft. house to a 750 sq. ft. apartment, and has written several books on living “large” by living “small.” I take a great deal of inspiration from her excellent blog and books!

As some know, I recently downsized from a 1000 sq. ft. apartment to a 425 sq. ft. studio. In preparing for this move, I jettisoned what I felt were unnecessary belongings and donated most of my furniture, including a large futon, a dining room set, large TV and desk. When I felt I had only what I needed with me, I was still dismayed at the number of boxes I’d packed and was afraid I wouldn’t have enough storage space for everything.

When I arrived at my new studio and began unpacking, I worried again about storage space. Kitchen cabinet space was at a premium, and I wondered if I’d need to buy a pantry storage cabinet. However, I needn’t have worried. Now that I’ve unpacked everything, with a little creativity there’s plenty of room for everything and I won’t need that extra pantry after all.

And I actually have more open space than I was expecting! So in the coming months I plan to create a “living room” area with a storage-added loveseat from Home Reserve, with a small bookcase placed in back of it in my “bedroom” area with a chair and lamp, creating a reading nook.  I have lots of wall open space currently, but I plan to hang stretched-fabric pictures and also, since I have all the family photos, an arrangement of framed photos of my grandparents, great-grandparents and other close family members.

Of course, living in a small space discourages clutter, and is a snap to clean, so that’s a great benefit for someone like me who is not naturally neat and dislikes housework. That leaves time for the other, more important aspects of life!

So living small means living large!

Leave a Reply

