The Monday Post, Vol. 12 — All Hail Kale!

It has occurred to me from time to time that I should incorporate more dark green leafy vegetables into my diet, particularly for the calcium content. I like spinach, I like collard greens; I don’t care so much for mustard or turnip greens. I do mean to like kale. I really want to, as that’s the king of the greens, as far as antioxidants, fiber and calcium are concerned. It’s not that I don’t like the taste, it’s the texture that bothers me; it takes a LOT of chewing, and becomes rather like chewing a cud. So I’m always in the market for a recipe that will make all this chewing seem worthwhile.

The other day I found this recipe by Food Network chef Bobby Flay for “Sauteed Kale” and it sounded like a good bet. There were 148 5-star reviews! Simple recipe using young kale, sliced garlic, a little vegetable stock, red wine vinegar and a bit of salt and pepper. I tried it yesterday and it was terrific, indeed deserving of 5 stars. Definitely worth the chewing!

I’ve also tried kale chips and liked them very much; a wonderful, and simple, recipe for those is here:  Cheesy Kale Chips. Really neat snack!

And here’s a great video from Superfoods to tell you everything you ever wanted to know about kale, plus some recipes I’d certainly like to try (if you’re a vegan watching this, you know the recipes can be easily veganized):

Also, I mentioned my poor old blender last week; I’m thinking of getting a more powerful blender and incorporating greens, particularly kale, in my smoothies.

You just can’t argue with kale’s food value. All hail kale!

Leave a Reply

