The Monday Post, Vol. 11 — Hey, It’s Really Mayo!

My daughter bought me the wonderful cookbook Vegan on the Cheap by Robin Robertson as a Mother’s Day gift, and has it ever been useful! I love her basic recipes in the first part of the book including “Creamy Mushroom Gravy” and “Cheezee Sauce” (which is terrific mixed half-and-half with salsa and poured over macaroni), which have turned out wonderfully well. I was especially intrigued by her “Make-Your-Own Mayo” recipe. Back in the day I had thought of making my own mayonnaise with eggs and oil and such but never seemed to get around to it. I don’t use eggs anymore, of course, but I bought some bulk-bin raw cashews recently and thought I’d give this recipe a whirl.

Speaking of whirls, the first thing the recipe says is “In a high-speed blender…” I looked at our old Oster doubtfully; not much power there, and it had seen better days. Where’s a Vitamix when you need one? But it was all I had to work with, so…

…I assembled all the ingredients. I had everything I needed except for cayenne, so I substituted white pepper…

…and got to use my fun little garlic rocker-crusher!

And then I was supposed to grind the cashews and garlic until they became a paste…

Uh…looks more granulated to me…guess that’s where more blender power would have been helpful. Well, trudging on, I next added everything except the oil…

Now it’s starting to look like something. I added the oil “in a thin stream” while the blender was running, as instructed…

…and hey, it really was getting creamy!

Looks good! But how does it taste?

Actually, the taste is quite good! And I’m thinking it will be even better after the flavors have time to marry a bit. This recipe made about a cup, but that’s all I wanted to start with, as it only keeps for 3-4 days and also I wanted to be sure how it would turn out. For store-bought mayo, I always buy the fabulous Vegenaise, but this will certainly do in a pinch.

So it’s a success! And hey, it’s really mayo! Now, try a cooking adventure yourself today!

4 thoughts on “The Monday Post, Vol. 11 — Hey, It’s Really Mayo!

  1. THAT was extremely intersting to read — and photos? YAY! So much easier to ‘see’ what you’re talking about. I admire you, but I’m going to try the mayo and I’ll let you know how it turns out.

    • Great! I hope you enjoy it; I just couldn’t get over the fact that it turned out so well! Thanks for commenting!

  2. I am so glad you posted this. I have a friend who can’t eat poultry or anything that comes from poultry (eggs) and she can’t eat regular Mayo because it has eggs. I’m going to tell her about this and I think she will like it very much. I might have to try it as well, especially since I consider May a food group. 🙂

    • Thank you! I also found out quickly that a little of this mayo goes a long way. I tend to slather on commercial-made Vegenaise, but this homemade mayo is VERY garlicky and not much was needed! It also thickens up nicely after a little time in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

