The Monday Post, Vol. 1 — A Fresh Start

So here we are in 2013! I always love the start of a new year; it’s like having a fresh blank notebook in which to record new adventures, and there are as yet no mistakes to erase. I’m not much on New Year’s resolutions, although in the past I’ve made a few, which I didn’t keep. Other than posting to this weekly blog and writing some shorter pieces, I haven’t made writing goals for 2013; I’m taking my life in a bit of a different direction for now. Writing is, of necessity, an isolating activity, and I already telecommute from home for my job, so I’m not working in an office with others. I’m not a loner by nature and find my current level of isolation to be higher than I’d like, so I’m turning my attention to more sociable activities. I’ve been playing the ukulele for a little over a year now, and have been working at it seriously over the past few months. The music scene here in Portland is thriving and anyone who wants to take part can find a spot for themselves, so I’m going to find my spot, and music will be a large part of my focus from now on.

Healthwise, I’ve been tweaking my diet and will continue to do that, plus I’ve become interested in “Volkswalking,” a form of non-competitive fitness walking that originated in Germany. This can be done alone, of course, but it is also often a social activity, and that’s what I’m looking for. Getting more sleep is a priority; I recently discovered how much better I sleep with a new pillow and superwarm comforter and have been sleeping very well ever since.

I’m going to get back to my Japanese lessons; I plan to visit my friend in Fukushima in the next few years and would like to be reasonably fluent by that time. I made a good start and then let myself get sidetracked, but I will make a point of fitting a regular lesson time into my day.

Well, for someone who doesn’t make “resolutions” I do seem to have some aims and goals for 2013. What are yours? I’d like to know!

Leave a Reply

