Four of four, or four of five

Okay, before everyone gets tired of looking at these three colors, here is the fourth of four items I was knitting, though I seem to have enough yarn left for a fifth item. This was my second experience with the DPNs, and though just a little bit awkward (I used 4 needles instead of 3 this time), it was definitely more comfortable this time around. Anyway, here’s the hat:


My daughter picked up a book at the library today that instantly piqued my interest:  The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook! As I have a dairy allergy but still like to enjoy cheesy dishes, I pounced on the book right away: quiches, fondues, spread, dips, even block “cheese” — marvelous! I cannot wait to try some of these. I’ve sometimes been disappointed in “imitation cheese” products in the past, but they keep getting better and better, and the recipes here, “Chocolate Almond Cheezcake”, “Monterey Jack Cheez”, “Blintzes” and “French Onion Soup Gruyere” sound just so, so good…mmm…

Changing the subject, I have to say I’m impressed with the variety of Christmas music I’m hearing this year, particularly on “Music Choice,” which we have going in the house on the TV much of the time. I’m hearing some obscure songs that are completely new to me. A little while ago I heard this song by Kate Smith (of “God Bless America” fame for those not old enough to remember her as well as we do), new to me, and I was glad to be able to find this performance from “The Hollywood Palace” show back in the ’60s; enjoy:

Well, this has been a hodge-podge of a post!  Dinner tonight is Gardein Beefless Tips sauteed with onions, garlic, carrots and kale over rigatoni, so I’d best get to it!

I hope everyone’s enjoying a wonderful weekend!

4 thoughts on “Four of four, or four of five

  1. OMG I had completely forgotten about The Hollywood Palace!

    I will have to remember the prison recipe for cheesecake, which involves no cheese or dairy whatsoever!

  2. Oh, that would be wonderful! Also, regarding making cream of mushroom soup that you mentioned recently, is that the recipe you mentioned several months ago in your blog? That sounds terrific! Keeping that one in mind, too…

  3. Well, I have to say that the cheesecake recipe is kind of disgusting, but it tastes great! I’ll research. I know it involves an entire container of powdered non-dairy creamer, lemon juice, and I think ice cream–but you could use a non-dairy ice cream material. And a crushed cookie mixed with a little butter for crust.

    I just made cream of mushroom soup. All I did was take one of those large packages of white mushrooms from Costco, saute with olive oil, thyme and bay leaf, then a little balsamic vineagar till nicely browned. Added in a goodly amount of chicken stock (or vegetable stock), then blend either with a hand-held blender or put in a blender. Then add cream or milk or soy milk and some salt and pepper. And I added some blue cheese for a little tang, but there is probaby something you could substitute. Voila!

    Tonight I took the leftover soup, cooked some pasta, cleaned some fresh spinach, tossed it all with some parmesan. Delish!

    Both were especially delicious when you have a lightly toasted slice of ciabatta to dip into it.

  4. My daughter makes a nondairy cheesecake using silken tofu, but I forget what else she puts in it. It’s amazing how much like regular cheesecake some of these recipes are!

    I like the way you make the cream of mushroom soup. I’m finding it fairly easy to make substitutions and recreate recipes in nondairy/vegan fashion, so I’m sure I can make a reasonable facsimile. And the ciabatta is a nice touch! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

