DPN Success!

NOW I know I can knit. I can cast on, knit, purl, increase, decrease, bind off, do cables, pick up dropped stitches and rip out where necessary, and have been doing these things pretty well for some time. But DPNs, double-pointed needles, have been the bane of my knitting existence and not having conquered them made me feel like I wasn’t a REAL knitter. I also have to admit I really never gave them a chance, as the patterns I picked didn’t require using them. But I was knitting a K2P2 ribbed hat that I wanted to decrease as much as possible before pulling the drawstring together at the crown, so I decided to give them a good try.

I needed to change to DPNs with 45 stitches left on my circular needles, so I watched the video again at KnittingHelp.com to fortify myself and then divided them onto three DPNs. This was a little tricky, because I’d been knitting the hat on size 10.5 needles and I only have size 8 DPNs, and there was a real likelihood of the stitches falling off.  But I did it gingerly, and then started slowly working around the three needles to do the decreases. It wasn’t too bad; a bit awkward, but I was getting it done! Here’s where I was when I’d decreased about as much as I wanted to:


Then all I had to do was thread the tail through the remaining stitches, pull the drawstring and secure it, then weave in the ends; and so here’s the hat:


I used Simply Soft in Raspberry for this hat, and although the recommended needle size was 8, I used 10.5 because I like a loose, stretchy hat, and I like a wide brim in a winter hat to cover my ears.  This hat feels reasonably warm, and under the hood of my anorak should be plenty warm for the not-extremely-cold winters in PDX.  Now I can finish knitting the two scarves I have underway.

I can knit!

 

2 thoughts on “DPN Success!

    • Mine too! I’m thinking using DPNs is not something I want to do often, but I guess I’ll have to get used to it if I want to start knitting socks. There is another technique to use called “magic loop” knitting, where one uses a long circular needle to knit small in the round, so maybe I’ll try that, too. The DPNs look like knitting voodoo!

Leave a Reply

