UFOs…

Not the kind some see in the sky, but Un-Finished-Objects, a common knitting/crocheting term.  I have a whole lot of knitting going on, but nothing finished yet.   I’m still working on the raspberry scarf, the silvery-grey ribbed scarf, the Hanover hat, and I started the lace scarf in the plum wine pink I had been planning.  The lace scarf was a pattern I had found in a blog online, but it seems the pattern as written has an error; I checked and double-checked it, but it just doesn’t work right.  Or else I’m not working it right.  Regardless, it didn’t go as planned, and I chose a different lace stitch out of the Big Book of Knitting Stitch Patterns (which I recently checked out of the library; I had this book in Florida but didn’t bring it with me and can’t imagine why I didn’t).

The first stitch pattern I chose had too much stockinette in it; being I’m using acrylic and can’t block it, it would have likely curled too much.  So now I’m doing a tulle stitch, which looks fluffy and will lie flat, so I’m happy with it.  I’ll post new pics of all four items as I complete, or almost complete, them.

It occurred to me that it was 6 months ago today that I wrote my blog post describing our drive across the country to get to Portland from Florida. Although a trying journey, there were moments my daughter and I can laugh about now, such as the dogs locking us out of the car at 5 a.m. on Sunday morning in Oklahoma.  I like to occasionally look at web cams along the route and remember our having traveled there.  But there’s one view in Wyoming that always burns me up:

See the “Flying J” truck stop on the right?  That’s where I had to leave my athletic shoes after having stepped in a large pile of dog poop!  I miss those shoes!  I did buy new ones, and they’re okay, I guess, but I really did like those shoes.  Grr!

Traffic was extremely heavy yesterday around the village, and there wasn’t a parking place to be found.   I wanted to stop in at my LYS to check out their available circular needles; so I’m going to give it another try this afternoon.

Hope everyone has a good week!

Leave a Reply

