Speed Knitting!

I had a bit of unexpected time today while waiting for a software glitch to be unglitched, so I picked up the knitting I started last evening.  I had started the raspberry scarf on Saturday, but it was on smaller needles and I didn’t like the way it looked, so I restarted it last evening on slightly larger ones (originally 7, switched to sz. 9).  Since I had my Denise Interchangeables, I decided to start more than one scarf at a time, as it’s easy to switch off between them.  So I’m doing the raspberry one, a grey one and will be working on a third, a plum pink one that will be a lace pattern, which will require more concentration, so I’m putting that off a bit longer.

Knitting and I have not always gotten along well.  I’ve crocheted for about 40 years now, since I was 16.  I would give knitting a half-hearted try from time to time, but I would drop a stitch or otherwise get fouled up, and give up in disgust.  About 6 years ago I tried left-handed knitting, and took to it much more quickly; the way the yarn was held on the left and the use of the right needle were similar to the way I crocheted, and I found it easier to knit that way.  I can’t really say I was doing a true Continental style of knitting, however, as I wasn’t “picking” the stitches; I was still “throwing” the yarn with my left hand, which was still inefficient and slower than I would have liked.  I would always lapse back into crochet when I wanted to get a project completed quickly (I don’t use the word “lapse” to mean crochet is somehow backwards; I’m just referring to my unwillingness to get used to doing something new and different and wanting to stay with the tried and true).

Yesterday I gave “picking” another try, and lo and behold, it worked and went quickly!  I can now knit almost as fast as I can crochet!  It didn’t matter so much to be speedy when I was just making dishcloths, but I want to make scarves and hats and such, now that I live where I can wear them.  So it’s nice to be able to move along more rapidly.

There is a watch cap I want to make, and it should be simple, until I get to the upper crown, then I have to switch to DPNs.  I bought bamboo DPNs awhile back and tried them once; it looked like an awkward game of pick-up-sticks.   But I’m determined to conquer that skill, too.  I did try cables several months ago and did fine with those.   Maybe I can be more of a knitter than I thought I could be!

I’m using Caron Simply Soft yarn for these scarves.  Yes, I know, 100% acrylic and all that, but I don’t do wool and this is what my budget allows at the moment.

My only angst with this project is that I’m SURE when we moved here I brought my extra Denise cords, extenders and end buttons, and I can’t find them anywhere!  Right now it’s not a problem, as I will have only three projects going, but it’s irritating not to be able to find them, nonetheless.

Changing the subject, NaNoWriMo is going very well; I’m right on schedule, and more than a quarter of the way to the 50,000-word goal.   Now, 50,000 words is certainly too short for a true novel (should be 70,000-90,000 words), and NaNoWriMo for me was simply the impetus to start a book I had planned to write eventually anyway.  I will have much work to do on it once November is over, and plan for it to be ready for querying after the first of the year.

Knit on!

4 thoughts on “Speed Knitting!

  1. congrats on nanowrimo!

    i tried to teach myself to knit about three years ago and could.not.get.it. i ended up selling my supplies at a yard sale. i started crocheting just within the last year or so. ive mostly mastered the single crochet stitch and am almost feeling brave enough to try something else, like a granny square or something. lately ive been making a lot of dish cloth sets and scarves for friends/family.

    also: occasionally fred meyer has decent sales on their yarn. two weeks ago it was all buy two get one free, this past week it was all 50-99 cents off. the selection isnt huge, but decent and i can usually find something i like.

    • Thanks, re NaNo! I know what you mean about trying to teach oneself to knit. I do better with such things when someone SHOWS me how it should go, but I didn’t know any knitters then. My sister suggested a web site to me at http://www.knittinghelp.com, where there are videos, plus there are knitting DVDs out there, and it was the Knitting Help website that gave the best instruction, I felt.

      Thanks for the tip about Fred Meyer; I knew they had yarn but I’d forgotten about looking there. I usually get yarn from JoAnn when they’re having a sale. I love the local yarn shops, but if I bought yarn there I wouldn’t be able to make many things. Plus, I’m more loathe to experiment with the more expensive yarns, as they tend to get ratty if you have to start over more than once.

  2. I still can’t do Continental! I haven’t knitted or crocheted anything for a year or so…right now I’m all about fountain pens & stationery. 😛 I hope I can get back to my ukuleles pretty soon. I feel so uninspired at the moment.

    Anyway, I LOVE the scarves you are doing! And I’m so glad you found a way of knitting more quickly! It’s good to make your own snuggly, pretty things to wear. 🙂

    And I’m really glad your novel is coming along well! I’ll be excited to see it next year!

    • I’ve tried English style knitting from time to time, but it feels terribly awkward to me. I was wondering about the way ladies used to knit that we see in classic movies, with the right needle over the top of the hand, held like a pencil. How could they DO that? I read that Continental, or German-style knitting, fell out of favor, of course, during WWII, and that the English style, particularly over the top of the hand, was considered more lady-like (how knitting with both needles under the hands wasn’t “lady-like” is beyond me. I noticed that Bette Davis and Joan Crawford, both avid knitters, never worried about looking lady-like with their knitting).

      Thanks for your encouragement re the novel!

Leave a Reply

