NaNoWriMo Time!

As I start this post, it’ll be the beginning of NaNoWriMo 2010 here on the west coast in 3-1/2 hours.  There will be a few “write-ins” that start at midnight, but I’ll be long asleep by then, as I’ll be starting my new novel at 6 a.m. tomorrow morning.  I can’t wait!

It’s funny how I’ve come to love writing fiction.  It’s the closest thing to acting; stepping into multiple scenes, becoming your character as you maneuver the plot to tell the story you want to tell.  Writing is my favorite part of every day. But is it any good?  I don’t know.  I like what I’m writing and I love the process, but I’ve never submitted any of my fiction for consideration.

As I mentioned in a past post, I did attempt to write a novel in 2004, and nearly completed it, but I’d worked out a detailed outline, was rigid in following it, didn’t enjoy the process and produced work that I don’t think anyone would really enjoy reading, either.   That convinced me to retreat back to my tried-and-true world of nonfiction, where I’d been published several times before and felt I knew what I was doing.  But a yen to write fiction still stayed with me.

When I moved to Portland six months ago I decided I wanted to try writing things outside my comfort zone.  And it seemed everyone here was working on a novel.  I started associating with Portland Writers and was inspired to start a novel of my own, which I’ve been working on since July.  I had no outline, no real plot in mind, I just followed the story wherever it wanted to go, and I’ve enjoyed it so much.  Now that I’ve set aside a good chunk of time to write regularly, it’s moving along quickly, with time out for my recent loss and this month of NaNoWriMo.  I expect to finish the first draft by the end of the year, and will be spending the end of 2010 and early 2011 working on editing and rewriting both books to prepare them for submission.

I hope all those participating enjoy their experience with NaNoWriMo!

Leave a Reply

