Burgers!

It occurred to me recently that I’ve been eating WAY too much processed food.  I’ve fallen into the habit of just reaching in and grabbing a veggie burger or chik’n patty, frying it up and throwing it on a bun with whatever I happen to have around, onion, tomato, etc.  Okay, they’re meatless, but they’re still processed food.  However, I’m busy (who isn’t?) most days and whatever I have has to be convenient.  Sometimes I’ll make something on the weekend that’ll last a few days into the week, but I still want to reach in the freezer and grab something I can put on a bun.

I found a new website (new to me), Savvy Vegetarian, and took a look at their recipes.  Many looked easy, and really good, too, so I settled on a black bean burger recipe and was going to put it together today, but woke up with some sort of stomach bug and didn’t feel up to it, so my daughter made it today.  The recipe makes 10 burgers, so we froze them individually in pans, to make wrapping and storing them easier later.  Here’s how they looked:

I haven’t fried them up yet, but here’s a tiny picture of how they’ll look tomorrow:

With all the onions, garlic, bell pepper and celery in them, as well as hummus and oatmeal, and of course black beans, they smelled fabulous while they were being put together.  I’m hoping these turn out well; I’ve liked the bean burgers I’ve had in the past, and if I’ve found something this easy to make, where I can make a bunch and freeze them so I’ll have something better to reach in the freezer and grab when I’m in a hurry, I’ll be thrilled!

I’d also fallen into the habit of veggie bacon (more processed food), a fried egg and hash browns for breakfast (lotsa fat).  I decided to start making oatmeal for breakfast (the kind you cook, not make in the bowl), and adding raisins, cinnamon and nutmeg, along with the sugar (some people like honey on oatmeal, I don’t care for it).  Better nutrition, less fat!

I’m not saying I’m not going to use processed food at all anymore; convenience is convenience, after all.  But I don’t want to be dependent on it for every meal, as I was doing before.

Small changes, new habits!

Leave a Reply

