Easy Saturday

Things are a little better today.  I decided I needed a nice, easy Saturday.  The temptation was to go off somewhere alone in a wooded area to sit and think, but I would probably just brood and cry.  I thought it was a better idea to be around people, people who were doing things and getting on with the business of living.

So my daughter and I went up to the village and wandered around the busy shops, and I wanted to buy something, I didn’t know what.  In the gift shop I found a little bird figurine (seems to be a goldfinch), and I remembered I wanted to eventually begin collecting bird figurines, so today seemed a good day to start.  I especially like little plump, squat birds like this one, so I had to purchase it.

Not sure whose idea the feet were; it seems to have the feet of a small parrot, but it does add stability, so I can’t complain.

When we returned, I went ahead and signed up for NaNoWriMo, committing myself for the month of November.  I had been pondering for some time what I wanted my novel-in-30-days to be about, and had first considered a children’s/young adult novel, but I’ve decided instead that I’m going to write my parents’ story, in fiction form, of course.  I had thought of writing it some years back and had interviewed my mother for some background information.  At the time I became involved in another project, but it seems now a good time to go ahead with it.

Fall is when I get in the mood to make soups and stews, so in a few minutes here I’m going to make a pot of Pasta e Fagioli (using a Bean Cuisine mix as a base).  I enjoy prepping the vegetables, and it’ll feel good to be busy in the kitchen.

I hope everyone’s having a nice day, and I look forward to reading some of the NaBloWriMo blogs in a bit.

5 thoughts on “Easy Saturday

  1. Thank you; yes, they either give him character or make him a character, but either way, he’s cute and I’m glad I got him. 🙂

  2. Sorry, I cut myself off.

    I meant to add “…grieving is such a terrible process. Sometimes it helps to be around people. I’m glad you were able to listen to what you needed to do. I’ll be thinking of you, even though I just “met” you.”

  3. Thank you, Heather. I think my solace is going to come through writing, as well; not just writing about my mom, but throwing myself into writing in general. I’m fortunate that NaBloWriMo and NaNoWriMo have come along at this time in my life.

Leave a Reply

