Away, but not really

Well, it seems I’ve been on a hiatus from this blog, though it wasn’t intentional; time just seemed to slip away from me and I wasn’t getting around to all the things I would have liked to have done.  As usual, I’ve been spreading myself too thin; my mother used to say that I always seem to burn the candle at both ends, but unfortunately I overdo and stress myself out to the point that I become ill, which is what I’m dealing with now.  A checkup is in order next week; if it turns out to be mainly stress-related, then I’ll need to make some changes to turn that around, as well.

I’m writing a novel.  I know, when I started here I wrote more than one post about how I was not a writer of fiction, that it was not a forte of mine.  However, I was writing from a prompt one day a few weeks ago, and the story just kept growing, so I had to follow it.  Fiction may still not be my forte, but I need to write this story anyway.  Maybe I’ll surprise myself!

Our home is still pretty bare, and though we’re slowly acquiring basic furniture, it needs enhancing, and I’ve decided fabric is the way to go–lots of it!  Pillows, wall hangings, tablecloths, placemats, and a few new clothes wouldn’t hurt, either.  Sewing to the rescue!  I had to leave my 37-year-old sewing machine back in Florida (which I felt very bad about doing), so last week I purchased a new machine.  My budget is pretty limited, but I was able to purchase a Brother CS6000i, which for me is quite an upgrade, since it does a lot more than the straight, zig-zag, 4-step buttonhole and blind-hem stitching my former machine did.  It’s taking a few days to get acquainted!  I’m hopelessly out of date, plus it’s hard for me to believe this machine cost only $10 more than the simple lightweight machine I bought back in 1973; how things have changed!  I’ll be blogging about my new sewing adventures here.

I haven’t seen as much of Portland as I’d like yet, but my daughter and I have developed the habit of traveling over to the east side of the Willamette on Saturday mornings to have doughnuts at Sweetpea Baking Company; they’re piping fresh at 9 a.m. every Saturday, and the day doesn’t seem complete without them!  While there a couple of weeks ago I took the camera along and shot pictures there and along the drive back home.  I put some of the pictures together and added music; everyone seemed to like the result!  I’ll post it here; enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Away, but not really

  1. Thanks! I just shot random pictures, many more than I used, and it wasn’t until I was back home that I decided to use some of them in a video. I thought the black and white mode suited the cool and unusually cloudy (for summer) day. Glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

