Today’s Blog Entry is Brought to You by the Letter “C”

“C” as in catch-up, cooking and cold, cold weather!

I’ve been away from blogging for some time, shortcutting my communications by using mostly Twitter and occasionally Facebook as I’ve hurried through life lately, mostly working and laying the groundwork for our upcoming move (16 weeks from today at this time I will somewhere in northwestern Utah, nearing Idaho).  As it tends to go with the best-laid plans, there have been some bumps along the way as my daughter and I bring it to fruition, but we are simply going around, over or just plain through the seeming roadblocks, and are still on schedule to depart for Portland on May 1st.

As I’ve been tweeting about lately, it’s been COLD in Florida!  We are simply not equipped for long cold spells, and the flip side of a lack of working central air conditioning in our home is that the heat doesn’t work, either.  We have three tiny space heaters and two slightly larger ones.  In the morning I immediately turn on the oven and boil pots of water on the stove.  When the sun hits our large east windows, I let in all the warm light I can.  Most days I’ve been able to get the indoor temperature in parts of the house up to 67-68 by the afternoon, which is bearable.  We layer what clothes we can, and the animals huddle together under blankets and throws.  Thankfully tonight is the last night of extreme cold (22 degrees), and the weather should slowly warm up; this time next week we should be back to our normal 70-50 degree winter weather.

In view of the cold weather, I wanted to make either a pot of soup or chili, which would warm both us and the house a bit.  I haven’t cooked anything, really, for quite some time.  When I became a vegetarian almost two years ago my daughter took over the cooking and I’ve been quite spoiled since then.  Okay, I put some meals together for myself, but I wouldn’t call throwing together a salad, heating up a can of soup or frying a Boca burger actual cooking.  So it was time to remedy that.

I found this recipe online for Cincinnati-style chili (not quite Skyline Chili, but reminiscent) some months ago and saw there was a vegetarian version, so I filed it away to cook sometime.  I pulled it out and got the ingredients the other day, and yesterday set to work:

It’s truly simple; just a matter of sauteing the onions, browning the veggie crumbles and dumping in everything else, letting it simmer for 20 minutes, and that’s it!  I haven’t yet found a vegetarian hot dog I care for, so I served the chili over spaghetti, of course with chopped onions and shredded cheese:

And, as you might imagine, it’s even better today after the flavors have had time to blend further overnight.  A success!  I will certainly be making this chili again from time to time; which reminds me, I haven’t had dinner yet…

And that’s all for today!

4 thoughts on “Today’s Blog Entry is Brought to You by the Letter “C”

  1. It’s Robert, verloren, Ferus Akimbo, etc.
    nice to watch the progression from idea to reality. I remember you talking about Portland on Myspace some time ago.

    • So far, so good! Money is always an issue, but we’re forging ahead, confident that we’ll have enough to do what we need to do. Nice to see you here!

    • Indeed! It was 25 degrees when I got up at 7:30; 58 in the house. I have it up to 63 here by my desk now. I don’t mind it being cold outside, but this inside chill is getting old! Thank goodness the slooooow warming starts today!

Leave a Reply

