Home » blogging » Project 52, Week 33 — Discombobulated, Temporarily

Project 52, Week 33 — Discombobulated, Temporarily

Not long ago those of us who use iGoogle got the message that that particular application won’t be around anymore after November of 2013. That might seem a long way off, but with no comparable replacement available now or on the horizon, it was more than a little disconcerting. I’ve been using iGoogle to keep myself up to date with what’s going on in the world for years, and though some warn against having all of one’s internet eggs in one basket, I’ve liked using several Google products and the way they all work together so well, especially Gmail and Google Calendar, which I usually access from my iGoogle start page.

Not wanting to be caught flat-footed a couple of Novembers from now, I started searching the web to see what other iGoogle fans were planning to do. Some said they’d use MSN.com or Yahoo! for their start page, though I’m hearing rumors that Yahoo! will also eventually do away with their current format. Some recommended Protopage and NetVibes, and I checked them out, but they’re not entirely satisfactory. Some said something similar to iGoogle could be set up in Google Chrome, but I prefer using Firefox. Also, though I can check Gmail at some of these other sites, I can’t access my Google Calendar from them. Google Calendar is probably my most important tool for making me look efficient and on top of things; without it I’d be pretty lost. There are other good calendars, but I don’t have a “smart” phone, and I can update Google Calendar with regular text messages. Zipcar coordinates with it as well. It’s simply the best.

Anyway, I came across a forum where a fellow posted that when Google made the iGoogle announcement, he stopped using it immediately and simply arranged his browser with the tabs keeping open the sites he felt were most important and used most often, plus a good news website. Duh! I looked at my iGoogle page and saw that I was using it mostly for a jumping-off point, that keeping the tabs open on the 5 sites I use most often would certainly be the easiest option, and had a why-didn’t-I-think-of-this-before moment. So I’ve stopped using iGoogle as well, and my 5 tabs are Google’s regular search, Gmail, Google Calendar, Twitter and Weather Underground. This appeals to my great appreciation for the KISS principle, and I’m finding I don’t miss iGoogle very much at all. There were some fun widgets, but nothing I can’t find elsewhere.

So I was only discombobulated by this for a short time. I often dislike and have trouble adjusting to change, but it’s our only true constant, so at least this time it’s been relatively painless.

Leave a Reply

